Work

I have just received my results from the doctor and been informed I have osteoarthritis in my neck both knees hands lower back and both feet.I have been struggling for few years but it’s getting hard to do my job with my condition as I work as a heavy machine drive and plant machinery. I have been a very fit person walking and biking to work 5miles a day.I have been off work again for 5weeks as my episodes were bad this time,I also have vibration white finger and copd as I was a miner for 14 years. Iam writing this because i think my job is getting to hard to do and if I can get any support if I finish work or get finished can you help as I have worked all my life,I am 59 next please help don’t no wot to do

Comments

• Shell_H
    Shell_H Member Posts: 548

Hi @Brooky63 - welcome to the online community!

I see you have Osteoarthritis in your neck, knees, hands, lower back and feet. On top of that you have vibration white finger and COPD. You're worried as it's getting harder to be able to do your work, which is quite physical as a heavy machine driver and you work plant machinery. You need to know if there is support available if work becomes too hard, and you're really worried about this possibility.

Not working is hard. I would like to reassure you there is support you can get. Firstly there is either Universal Credit or Employment Support Allowance (ESA) which you can apply for. Universal Credit and ESA would both be available to you if you were not working. You can only have one - ESA is for if you are too ill to work at all, and Universal Credit is for if you can do some work. It does need to be stated that if you have a partner you live with their income may prevent you from getting anything from this.