Newbie here! Work capability meeting tomz

Options

Hi new to community. Been diagnosed 9 months ago with osteoarthritis of my hands, knee, lumbar facet joints. Daily pain that never goes away from hands and knee. My pain in lower back radiates to my groin( feels like i have broken my pelvis some days). Been off sick from work nearly a year. I am an SLA in a Nursery with the council, having just completed an HNC as a Childhood Practitioner before and during lockdown. Oh and im 50 and in menopause, on HRT !!

Looking for advice. I have a work capability meeting tomorrow. Had a chat with an advisor who was really helpful. I really do not want to leave the council.at my age but the constant pain im in is making me think otherwise. I take lots of drugs, gabapentin at night, duloxetine , paracetamol, tramadol. Glucosamine, turmeric too. I feel that the pain and inflammation must be more than just osteo but went to rheumatology 9 months ago i have a family history of chrones and ankyolising spondylitis. None of which i seem to have. I've had high colprotectin levels detected. I keep thinking there must be something else wrong??? Am i going to have to live with this pain forever? Is it just me?? How can i work? I had some visitors on Sat night for a meal and i could hardly walk by end of night as i was busy, 2 days later im still so sore. I have a high pain threshold normally but a year down the line this is really getting to me!

Sorry....rant over! Any advice and anyone suggest a job? The council said they will look at redeployment if necessary and also due to the disability act they need to give me a chance by putting safety measures in place for me.

I welcome any answers!

Thank you.

🙏🙏

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,628
    Options

Hi @Jools71 Welcome to the Online Community.

It does sound as though you have a lot going on health wise and a lot which still worries you. Many of our members have dual even multiple diagnoses too.