Any teachers? Advice would be great...

Options

Hi all,

I have been diagnosed with RA for a little over 12mths now. This is in my fingers, wrists , shoulders and feet. And while ok mostly the flare ups are not so great.

My biggest issue is marking work. I am a teacher at a college and I teach a wide variety of subjects many of which are coursework based and so marking load is crackers. This itself is tricky but with site wrists and hands makes it nearly impossible. If I spend a couple of hours marking it makes my wrists sore for days. And I have more than a couple of hours worth a day.

An to advice on what I could do would be really appreciated as I am struggling at the moment and know that this will potentially only get worse. I am in my late 40s with quite a lot of teaching ahead of me yet!

Thanks

Steve

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,628
    Options

Hi @Steveg

I know this isn't your hello post, but I can see your are a teacher who has Rheumatoid Arthritis. Your hands and wrists are really sore and marking work is a large and painful part of your job.

I am unsure whether any of our members teach (at least are not currently teaching), but wondered whether you might find these two articles interesting? They are people's personal stories about how they coped with working with Arthritis.

The first is a Doctor, Amy who has Psoriatic Arthritis:

This is Bobby's story he has had JIA:

I hope we do have some teachers out there who can tell you what they do to cope with handwriting.

Best wishes

Ellen.

• jamieA
    jamieA Member Posts: 707
    edited 26. Apr 2022, 08:18
    Options

Hi @Steveg