Hello from Northern Ireland away in the country 😄👋

Daisy33
Daisy33 Member Posts: 5
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:09 in Living with arthritis

Hi everyone

First of all thank you for this site...I'm a newbie here and I'm at my breaking point. I'm 57, feel like 90...iv arithitis in my ankles, wrists and knees. I'm waiting on knee replacement over 4 yrs now but don't really want to go through with it as my consultant told me it will make my Fibro worse along with ME. Yesterday I got results of x-ray on right knee to say I had advanced arithitis in it, offered steroid injection until I'm put on waiting list for in knee replacement on it. Yesterday I had breakdown couldn't see away forward, constant pain and fatigue. Iv researched so much that I'm seeing double. I finally got in touch with arithitis helpline and was given information for here and online exercise. I go on Monday to get set up for two crutches to use. Physio says the best exercise I can do is swimming so first thing this morning I went, never went on my own before and did 20 mins. I was exhausted when got home, meds and straight to bed but I did it. Trying to make this a routine. I need to lose weight badly too, but not being mobile is a big hinderence to do that. I'm now looking into Tumeric to see if it will help.

Sorry for the long winded introduction and I hope I haven't bored you too much.

Comments

• chrisb
    chrisb Moderator Posts: 669

Hi @Daisy33  

Welcome to the versus arthritis forum. 

You have arthritis in multiple joints, you’ve been waiting for knee replacement surgery for ages, you have ME, goodness, you really are going through it. By the sound of it you’ve been in contact with our helpline who pointed you in the direction of the forum as well as suggesting some exercise routines. 

Please don’t apologise for going into detail about your situation, the more detail you share the more relevant will be the feedback you get from forum members.