I'm struggling with living with arthritis in my fingers and thumbs

I'm a 60 year old teacher. I was diagnosed with arthritis in my fingers a couple of years ago and had steroid injections into most of the joints but they are not helping any more and my fingers are stiffening to the point that I can't even hold a pen properly. Now the joints at the bases of my thumbs are crumbling and I've been told I need a trapeziectomy.

I take naproxen and paracetamol but wake up in the night with my hands throbbing and can't get back to sleep. I saw the consultant in June and was told the waiting list was 3 months. It's been over 4 months now and I've not heard anything.

I'm really scared of the surgery and about losing the use of my hands. Can anyone out there give me some advice?

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,591

Good morning @Sue60 Welcome to the Versus Arthritis online community.

I see from your post that you are a teacher and are struggling with pain in your fingers and now more so your thumbs.

Your consultant has now recommended you have a trapeziectomy and you are on 'the list'. It may be worth contacting your consultant's secretary to see whether you can take a cancelation at short notice (if your employer will allow that) as this can speed things up sometimes.

I am going to pop in a couple of links which should be worth reading:

and

There is a factsheet about Trapeziectomy in the last link if you scroll far enough through the information.

We had quite a few people having this surgery a few years ago one of who was @Megrose2 she had both of hers done if I remember rightly.

Now that you've said hello maybe you'd like to look around the rest of the forum. Living with Arthritis tends to be the most popular.

Do keep in touch and let us know how you get on

Ellen.

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,336

What a nightmare being a teacher and needing your hands to mark work.