Hello, and a right old moan!

Options
jscanjscan
jscanjscan Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:10 in Living with arthritis

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to say hi, as I'm a newbie, having just joined today.

I wanted to have a good old moan about all the little things that I can't do with what I believe is RH (I've given blood tests, and had ultrasounds of my hands and elbow, but still awaiting diagnosis from the rheumatologist). Not only to get it all off my chest, but also in the hope that I can compare with anyone reading this, how mild, or bad, my symptoms are:

1. I can't bend my left elbow fully, or twist it in a certain way, which means I couldn't even put my long hair into a ponytail, or style if for my daughter's wedding. I've therefore just been to the hairdresser to have it cut into a much shorter and manageable style. I also can't put on earrings that have a backing.
  2. I can't grip with my hands, so twisting off jar lids can be quite painful, and nigh-on impossible.
  3. I can't sit for long periods, as inactivity seems to make my feet worse (difficult, when I have a sit-down office job).
  4. I can't put on lots of my close-fitting shoes, as my feet have swollen.
  5. I struggle with putting on and taking off my coat.
  6. I can't use scissors to cut thick things, as I get pain in the base of my thumbs.
  7. I can't twist the gear on my bicycle, so I stay in the same gear when cycling.
  8. In the car, I can't press and change the gear stick to reverse with just one hand, I need to use both hands.

Interestingly, the pain comes and goes. For months I had pain in my knees which meant getting up from a sitting or lying position was really hard - but that knee pain has now gone, to be replaced with pain in the balls of my feet. When the foot pain went, that was replaced by pain in my elbow. The hotspots move around! I now have knobbly fingers where there is/was inflammation, so I don't like showing my hands.

I feel like I'm 90 years old, but I'm 54!