Hi, newbie here!

Options
Bex1971
Bex1971 Member Posts: 3
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:10 in Living with arthritis

Hello

Ive been getting the versus emails for months but never clicked on the community thing til now. I just read a few of your posts and I'm like oh these people are like me! lol

I'm 51, osteoarthritis diagnosed maybe 5 years ago. I live alone, in an upstairs flat with no elevator!

Pre pandemic I walked with a walking stick and grunted my way up and down the stairs and lived somewhat of a normal life. Then covid hit and stay at home so I did literally that, big mistake, after months of not going up and down the stairs, and not moving much at all, it became too painful to actually go down the stairs at all, so rather than face the pain I chose not to. I also had a bad fall in my house as my arthritis is mostly in my hip so I can be unstable, which in turn also made me scared to tackle the stairs alone. I became reliant on weekly grocery deliveries from the supermarket and amazon for all my needs. Ive got to the stage where I am almost trapped in my house like a prison as I'm scared to tackle the stairs. I'm on a waiting list with the council for a ground floor property but been advised it may be some months.

So like Ive seen on some of your posts on here, I deal with the same day to day struggles of silly things like I cant bend over to pick up something I drop on the floor, or I cant cut my own toenails, or somedays i literally hurts too much to stand up to cook a meal.

But my biggest reason for joining this site I guess is just finding people who get it! I can try to explain my pain/frustrations/fears to my best friend, but no one can really get it unless they have lived it. I'll explain to a friend how much pain i'm in and how I can barely stand to make dinner, and they will say 'i hope you feel better, and let me know if you want to meet for a pub lunch sometime', when all i really want them to say is ' do you need me to pop over?'