Arthritis in knees.

rich127
rich127 Member Posts: 3
edited 30. Dec 2008, 16:14 in Living with Arthritis archive
I am new to this and only just found this website but I am fed up of constantly being turned down for the appropriate benefits because the DWP say that I am fit and healthy for work when I can hardly even get out of bed and I can't sit down in comfort either. Can somebody please help me with any advice on how to go about things, please :(

Comments

• mouseymousey
    mouseymousey Member Posts: 283
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello Rich, You can find lots of info on the site re this.
    Have you talked it over with your GP/Rheumy, would they support any claim do you think? You need to explain how arthritis is affecting your life and the difficulties caused to you. Also I think there is a time limit, it has to have been an issue for 3 months before the claim (I'm sure someone can put me right on that one)..someone who can answer this better than me will be along soon...but it puts you back up the page.
  • mash65
    mash65 Bots Posts: 834
    hi,weve all been there,& some r still trying for certain benefits.if u post as to which benefits uv got problems with,i.e incap,income support,dla.many will answer & try to help.will help as much as i can.iv just been down that road,& all the stress.but still fighting for dla.good luck debs
  • lindalegs
    lindalegs Member Posts: 5,393
    Hi Rich and welcome to the Forum,

Have you ever tried appealing when you've been turned down? If we can't help you there's always Citzen's Advice Bureau, you could make an appointment with them to talk over your difficulties.

Luv Legs :)
    Love, Legs x
    'Make a life out of what you have, not what you're missing'
  • mrsdalloway2nd
    mrsdalloway2nd Member Posts: 13