First reaction from the Manager

denpen
denpen Member Posts: 389
Hi all,
I saw consultant 2 weeks ago and was told I had OA and will need a hip replacement, but will get cortisone injection to try see if that helps, so last Monday I told my Manager (I work part time in a shop) who said "can you do your job" and ""are you taking a holiday when you need to go into hospital for it done". I hadnt expected a great reception when I told her but I didnt expect the reaction that I got. I was still in shock and upset at just finding out what was wrong with me and her lack of compassion didnt help, I was shaking I was so angry. This conversation had taken place over the phone, I had spoken to her the day after and she never mentioned it, the conversation was strictly work. Then on Friday she turned up at the shop and asked for a word with me were she appologised to me for sounding as if she didnt care. She said as soon as she put down the phone she realised it had sounded as if she only cared about my ability to do my job. Its a shame that it took her all week to get back to me when all she had to do was pick up the phone and apologise straight away.
I dont know if its my suspisous mind but I dont believe a word of her apology I think it came far loo late.
What does everyone else think?
Denise.

Comments

• oneday
    oneday Member Posts: 1,434
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    denpen wrote:
    Hi all,