Pyrocarbon finger joint implant

Options
Fuschia
Fuschia Member Posts: 13
edited 3. Apr 2012, 12:00 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello, I'm new here and wondered if anyone has had this procedure.
I have osteoarthritis in my fingers and I am on the waiting list to have two joints replaced. Any information about life with pyrocarbon finger replacements would be great, thanks.

Fuschia :smile:

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,715
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Fuscia and welcome to the forum.

I'm a veteran of hip and knee replacements. No fingers (yet?) but I do know that finger joint replacements are nothing new (I know someone who had hers done about 35 years ago) so I would imagine they've got the op fairly perfected by now. Good luck.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • valval
    valval Member Posts: 14,911
    Options
    please let us know how it goes mine changing shape so it only going to be a matter of time till have to go down that path good luck val
    val
  • skezier
    skezier Member Posts: 11,333
    Options
    Hi Fuschia,

Welcome to the forum and glad you have found it but sorry you have the arthritis.

One of our forum folk has just had a finger joint replaced and I a sure she will let you know about it when she pops in.

I really hope it will go well for you and get rid of a lot of pain. Nice to meet you. Cris x
  • Fuschia
    Options
    Thank you for the replies :smile:
  • skezier
    Options
    Hi Fushia,

You haven't got a date yet have you? I am sure someone will come along soon to help you but try not to worry too much and hope your ok in your self? Cris x
  • tiggernut
    tiggernut Member Posts: 339
    Options
    Hi Fushia,

I had knuckle joint replacements about 10 years ago. Not quite the same but I assume they are the same sort of thing.