just been told ive arthritis of the spine

Options
laceypuppy
laceypuppy Member Posts: 6
edited 31. May 2009, 12:35 in Living with Arthritis archive
hi im new to this ive just found this web site. ive only got diagnoised with arthritis of the spine last week im only 34 married with 4 kids my back drives me silly but ive been referred to c physios and orthopaedic surgeons. im really scared of what the future holds im already in pain find it hard to walk about without stopping or sitting down as a keen camper and walker this drives me silly. adviced really wellcomed thanks

Comments

• eckstardeluxe
    eckstardeluxe Member Posts: 1,192
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Lacey, welcome to the Forum and the "club".

I am 33 with 2 young children 3 and just 1. I was diagnosed at age 32 with OA spine and sacral area. This is secondary arthritis meaning it was caused by trauma to the bone, mines being a rare severe illness in childhood. Firstly do you know if your arthur is secondary like mine or primary ie due to wear and tear?

Did they tell you what stage you are in? There are 3, early, advanced and end stage. I found out I was moving into end stage when I was diagnosed. I had OA for 21 years progressing through the stages in pain just assuming it was from my previous condition, never thinking arthritis. If you are earlier on than myself it may reassure you to know I got this far without help meaning it shouldn't get worse for now. People have varying degrees of pain though so it really depends on your threshold. The advanced stage from my opinion is the worst, this is when you wake with stiffness that lasts about an hour and affects you badly when standing or walking.