enbrel (etanercept) side effect?

leslieann
leslieann Member Posts: 2
edited 29. Oct 2009, 14:15 in My child has arthritis
Hi, My daughter (15) has Jia and has been on enbrel (etanercept)for 2 years. She's been unwell for nearly a month now, had 2 antibiotics for a cyst under her lip, face swelling and generally pale, tired and poor appetite. The antibiotic seems to work temporarily and then she becomes unwell again. I'm beginning to wonder if it's something to do with the enbrel. Anyone out there experienced similar?

Comments

• elnafinn
    elnafinn Member Posts: 7,412
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello

I am sorry to hear about your daughter and that she is not feeling too good at the moment. I have no experience of this drug but know, like you, that etanercept can sometimes affect the blood count and can make you more likely to develop infections. If you develop a sore throat or other symptoms of infection, if you have a fever, paleness and so you should seek advice. This you obviously have done and I presume your daughter is being monitored either by her gp, rheumy or rheumy nurse. It would appear that the anti biotics are not getting rid of the infection. I like you would have started to think that it is something to do with the enbrel. I am sorry I cannot really help but I do sympathise with you and your daughter very much.

I hope things sort themselves out soon,

Best wishes
    Elna
    The happiest people don't have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything.

If you can lay down at night knowing in your heart that you made someone's day just a little bit better, you know you had a good day.
  • c4thyg
    c4thyg Member Posts: 542
    leslieann wrote: