Please I need help and support!

janie68
janie68 Member Posts: 1,186
I have just returned to work after having 4 months off. I am a staff nurse on a mental health ward and was finding that the constant walking etc was taking its toll on me. So therefore after numerous meetings, I returned with a lovley powered wheelchair provided by access to work last week. I have RA all down my right side and spine. My managers have not been, I feel particularly supportive, they didnt want me back in a wheelchair at all but had no choice in the matter (hospital policy and DDA reasonable adjustments).

Now they have called another meeting with me and occy health, as they are not happy. they say that I am unable to do CPR and this needs to be discussed. It has already been dealt with, I admitted that I could not completly kneel down on both knees but could on my left knee.

I wouldnt mind but I saw them yesterday and they did not mention it at all. It was occy health who rang and told me about it today. The meeting is monday morning.

I feel unvalued, that they just dont want me at all working on the ward.

I feel hurt and now want to throw the towel in. It is going to stress me out and you know that arthritis gets worse with stress!

Should I now apply for illhealth?

I dont think I have the strength now to fight.

My union are aware of the situation and have been very good.

I suppose I just wanted to get it off my chest and I know that you all will have an idea of how I am feeling.

I would appreciate your thoughts!!

Thanks

Janie :cry:

Comments

• topgirl
    topgirl Member Posts: 290
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Im sorry to hear what your going through....I too have RA and funnily enough its all down my right side( plus two thumbs) which I think is strange as everyone keeps telling me its symetrical..so im glad im not the only one!