Excited!

Options
c4thyg
c4thyg Member Posts: 542
edited 25. Oct 2009, 08:14 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi everyone,

I usually post when I'm feeling in need of support so today I'm changing pace a bit and posting some good news. I don't think I focus enough on the good so I'm giving it a try! :D

As some of you know I've had a pretty rubbish year after getting diagnosed with a potentially life threatening blood condition as well as arthur a few years back. It's been hell of a roller-coaster and resulted in me losing my job back in June and becoming essentially unemployable. Well, I've finally done something about it and got my first break. I'm a medical researcher by training (inflammatory diseases, go figure!!! :roll: ) and I desperately miss it. As no one wants to employ someone with such a scary medical history I've decided to freelance instead. I'm working on putting together a website for scientific proofreading/copy editing services as I've done a lot of this over the last 10 years as part of my job. It is desk based, and I'm working from home as many or as few hours as I can manage each week.

Well, just before I plan to go live with my own website I get an email from an agent who I contacted for advice months ago. They want to take me on as a contractor for them! So I would be self employed and able to pick the jobs that I want with them doing all the marketing and legal bits. :) I'm still negotiating things with them at the moment but it has really picked me up and given me the confidence to go ahead full steam with my own business. I found it so hard losing such an important part of my life and now I might get part of it back. I'm so excited that I wanted to share my news. I hope you don't mind. These events seem to be so rare for me now that I feel I have to shout it from the rooftops! :lol:

Comments

• debatat
    debatat Member Posts: 659
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Cathy, that is excellent news, fantastic!!!!!!!!!! :lol:

Deb