DONGLES ????

Options
Wonkylegs
Wonkylegs Member Posts: 3,504
edited 6. Nov 2009, 10:56 in Community Chit-chat archive
well I am no expert on this, but i believe from discussions we had at playgroup that a dongle is what one is provided with when setting up mobile access for a computer through a mobile phone company.

The dongle is the thing that connects the computer to the internet .... via the mobile phone network ... but I don't think anyone would need more than one? :?

there are things which are similar in appearance but are storage devices. I think they are sometimes called memory sticks, or something similar. They work like a disc but hold a lot more info. Would that be an idea for your friend?

Comments

• skezier
    skezier Member Posts: 11,333
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Lynn,

This I know about :D Its what I use. Mine is a stick type thing with a sim card and its own mobile number, so you wont need their number. If you know there post code and you know which dongle your getting it might be worth checking with the provider not using the internet one which isn't as reliable re coverage. In towns or cities they all have reasonable coverage but just cus a mobile phone on a particular network works in an area doesn't mean the dongle will. Remoter places have less coverage. My dongle is with a company who's phones don't work here and the phone is with a company who's dongles have no coverage here, yet.

Mine can go down but its quietly improving as they add in more transmitters (is that the right word?). Its normally ok and you can get boosters for them that strengthen the signal. Luv Cris xx
  • livinglegend
    livinglegend Member Posts: 1,425
    Options
    Wonkylegs wrote:
    a dongle is what one is provided with when setting up mobile access for a computer through a mobile phone company.