Someone To Talk To!

staceyh21
staceyh21 Member Posts: 6
edited 9. Dec 2009, 06:16 in Young people's community
Hey Im Kinda New To This. Got Diagnosed 6 Years Ago At 15. Been In Remission Up Until 2 Months Ago , Seems Like My RA Has Came Back With A Vengence. Its Worse Than Ever. Got Promoted To Assistant Manager In My Job 6 Months Ago But Lately Iv Had Loads Of Time Off, Feel As If All My Hard Work To Get The Job Has Been Wasted. No-One I Know Has RA Or Anything Similar So Dont Have Anyone To Talk Too. Family n Friends Just Dont Understand What Its Like.

Feelin Sorry For Myself Just Now I Think :lol:

Just A Bit Of A Shock To Have Life Halted Again At 21

Comments

• calcass
    calcass Member Posts: 29
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi there

Sorry to read you're having a rough time. I've had RA since I was a toddler and through my teens it appeared then disappeared - just as it goes! I went into remission when I was 18 and I was discharged from hosp, it was still there but not as distracting as it had been.

My remission didn't last very long - a few years and once it reared its ugly head I was warned by my doc to settle down a bit and revise my lifestyle (!) I was working in pubs and once I found a treatment which suited I carried on. I even moved away from home and ended up as a manager for Wetherspoons!

Unfortunately though I didn't take heed of the warnings my body was giving me, so instead of taking things a bit easier and resting from time to time I did have a relapse brought on by a virus.

It's prob not what you wanted to hear but what I'm trying to say is have fun, push your doctors for effective treatment, don't think that you've been wrote off by your body but do listen to your body and if you need some time out take it there is plenty of time.
    Since my relapse I've gained a degree in Criminology so don't let Arfur get you too bogged down!

Take care of yourself :wink:
    Be more Panda
    Ccass
  • kneedown
    kneedown Member Posts: 21