Newly Diagnosed

emski87
emski87 Member Posts: 4
edited 4. Mar 2010, 08:24 in Young people's community
Hi

I have been diagnosed with athritus in my hand and wrist recently, and am struggling to come round to the idea.

I know,now, that it doesn't just affect older people and it can occur in all ages.

Just looking around for some support from somewhere as I am really struggling with work as well. Not sure what I can do with regards to work, I'm a data manager at a secondary school. so I am using the computer all day and I am in constant pain. (so technically shouldn't be on this forum haha)

x

Comments

• wallysatt
    wallysatt Member Posts: 87
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi emski,

You could ask to see an occupational therapist. They can give you splints which might help you. There are also other things you can get to help you like a tracker ball mouse (I think that’s what they’re called).

Have you got any problems anywhere else or is it just your hands? And are you taking anything for the pain?

I don't work so I don't really know how they can help you, I'm sorry.

Sally.
  • emski87
    emski87 Member Posts: 4
    wallysatt wrote:
    Hi emski,

You could ask to see an occupational therapist. They can give you splints which might help you. There are also other things you can get to help you like a tracker ball mouse (I think that’s what they’re called).

Have you got any problems anywhere else or is it just your hands? And are you taking anything for the pain?

Sally.

Hi

Thanks for the reply

What is a track ball mouse? My docter did mention it to me, but not sure what they are really and how they might help ?

It's just my right hand and wrist, nowhere else.

Just on ibruprofen for the pain, just about takes the edge off, but I can't take that for the rest of my life haha

xxx
  • wallysatt
    wallysatt Member Posts: 87