Rheumatoid Arthritis Documentary

Options
chrisc
chrisc Member Posts: 4
edited 29. Jan 2010, 15:49 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi All,

My name is Chris Collins and I have been suffering with Ankylosing Spondylitis now for approx 4 years. I am a photographer based in the West Midlands and Gloucestershire area and I am currently trying to create a photographic documentary on what its like to live with rhuematoid arthritis. One thing I realised upon my own diagnosis is despite the fact that we all know someone that suffers with it we rarely now what it can be like to live with, which can often lead to lots of late nights filled with thoughts of dread. I'm looking to put together a story that shows the struggles we can have living with arthritis but at the same time show how life doesnt stop upon diagnosis.

If anyone would be interested in finding out more please post on here and we can talk more in depth about the project.

Thank you for your time and congratulations and creating what seems like an incredibly supportive online community.

Please feel free to take a look at my photography at http://c0llins.blogspot.com/ to gain an understanding of my photographic style. I look forward to hopefully hearing from some of you soon.

Chris :)

Comments

• chile168
    chile168 Member Posts: 384
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Chris and welcome,

Sorry to hear that you're suffering with AS. Congratulations on your photographs, they are great.

I think you have a good idea and wish you all the best with it. I often think that professional (medical) need more educating. By that I mean in how they deal and talk to patients about their worries and more explanation on symptoms rather than just handing out a leaflet. I think leaflets are good because once you get over the initial shock then it's easier to digest the information. More empathy.