how do you manage arthritis

Options
only49
only49 Member Posts: 1,207
edited 31. Mar 2010, 08:13 in Living with Arthritis archive
hi just wondering how you all deal with the pain of arthritis? do you take you pain killers as you be prescribed them e.g. 2 every 4 hours no more than 8 in 24 hrs, or just as and when required, or is it a case of sheer stubbornness and painkillers.

I take mine as required as I don't like taking them unnecessary unless I have to, I find heat always helps cold definitely don't,

looks like the weather about to take a turn for the worst it talks about the white stuff grrrr we've had enough poor new born lambs are going to have it tough
sylvia :)stern02.gif

Comments

• bailey27
    bailey27 Member Posts: 689
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi
    I cant manage mine at the moment. I have constant dull achey pain but get mad days / weeks when it is very intense. I am fairly new to it too so amybe with more experience I be able to manage better.
    I take painkillers when required as I find when I take at regular intervals they play up my stomach even though I also take omeprazole twice a day.
    I find heat always helps and have been known to take a bath several times day! - and today I bought a Homedics massage thingy to go on my chair which is quite nice and relaxing.
  • jaspercat
    jaspercat Member Posts: 1,238
    Options
    Hi, with the help of my gp my pain is well controlled at the moment, I take Tramadol 3 times a day, always in the morning because the aching is quite bad, and everytime I go to bed, I can take my Tramadol 4 times a day if I need to, but they make me drowsy love Jaspercatxx
  • fayrose
    fayrose Member Posts: 241
    Options
    I agree with you only49 and I only take them when I HAVE to. Mind you, when the pain is bad I take probably more than I should do, but hey, how else do you get through a day sometimes.