how to get past the receptionist?

Options
jenzie06
jenzie06 Member Posts: 708
edited 6. Jul 2010, 07:15 in Community Chit-chat archive
So, 6 weeks into being a Mum my RA has come back with a vengence making caring for Harry a bit tricky to say the list. My hands and feet are terrible making lifting him difficult and painful, so is my neck and ankles (or cankles as my hubbie calls them).
Cue call to the consultant to request an SOS appt as agreed to be told he's away for the week. Fine. So rang back yesterday to get an appt to be met with a receptionist nazi. She was very rude and kept sighing deeply when I explained myself.
Now I appreciate that the consultant is mega busy and I know how they want to do things and practically its not always possible. I used to work in a hospital, making appts with stroppy patients and sometimes it was a nightmare to fit people in with the consultants timetable. However, there is no reason to be rude! It left me in tears as I was really struggling and slightly sleep deprived!
We were at the hospital today for another appt and we called into rheumatology and met the usual really friendly receptionists (horrid one was at lunch!) who got me an appt without a problem. Why couldn't that happen yesterday?

Anyone got any good/bad experiences with receptionists?

Comments

• trisher
    trisher Member Posts: 9,263
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Jenzie

I'm so sorry to hear this. Can or have you tried the Rhuemmy nurse? At our hospital we have an emergency number to ring as well.

Not sure if you have these or have tried the r'heummy nurse she can get you on an emergency list.

I hope this helps you.

Will your GP help get you an appointment?

I do hope it gets sorted as soon as it can

Love Trish xxxxx
  • trisher
    trisher Member Posts: 9,263
    Options
    Jensie