Driving

Options
Starburst
Starburst Member Posts: 2,546
edited 27. Jun 2010, 16:00 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all, sorry for my lack of presence on the board. I have been reading and thinking of you all. x

I haven't driven for a while because I'm a very nervous driver. :oops: However, I'm thinking getting back on the road would make my life a lot easier. I usually walk everywhere but it's using up all my spoons. Arthur affects my right ankle very badly. I have no idea if I could drive safely. What can I do about this? I feel stranded and it's not fair to rely on my mum for lifts everywhere.

Sophie xx

Comments

• robertls
    robertls Member Posts: 2,304
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Sophie..................

I guess the only way you'll know is to get back behind the wheel...

As far as your right ankle...................well and automatic wont help.....

You can get an automatic, with peddles set up for left foot..............but thats only an option if you get high rate DLA.....

When my ankles are very bad, I use an ankle support......

It makes all the difference to me...........

Sorry can't be more helpful than that Sophie.....

Rob x
    Roba045.gif
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options
    Driving returns your independence, and that is a wonderful thing. I take it you are a qualified driver: how about getting some refresher sessions with an instructor? Robertls is quite right about the ankle support - it does make a great difference (says me, who drives with two of them, plus two knee supports). Dreamdaisy
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • speedalong
    speedalong Member Posts: 3,315
    Options