dietry supplements

Options
hopefull
hopefull Member Posts: 15
edited 8. Aug 2010, 10:59 in Living with Arthritis archive
hi im quite new to arthritis and this forum dont have pain just discomfort after walking.
have any of you had success when using supplements?

im using glucosomine/chrondroitine and cod liver oil.

wondering if im waisting my time.

only my right hip is affected. I think as a result of traffic accident 15 years ago.

Comments

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,430
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Hopefull

Goood to meet you and sorry about your hip.

Lots of people on here take those supplements and i think find them useful. Quite a lot eat oily fish regularly too.

May well be that accident that started it going :(

I swim when I can and think keeping as flexible as you can helps a bit, but nOT overdoing it.

Some of the others will come along hopefully soon so might have more ides.

LOve

Toni xx
  • elnafinn
    elnafinn Member Posts: 7,412
    Options
    Hi

Have you been diagnosed with OA? That can unfortunately happen after injury to a joint.

I took gluco but stopped that after years of taking as I did not feel it was of benefit to me, but I still take cod liver oil. It did not stop me having two Total Knee Replacements in the past two years though. :roll: :) Some people say tomatoes make them worse. Everyone varies and it is trial and error with diet really.

Look after yourself,

Elna x
    The happiest people don't have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything.

If you can lay down at night knowing in your heart that you made someone's day just a little bit better, you know you had a good day.
  • whalewatcher
    whalewatcher Member Posts: 90
    Options
    Hi Hopeful

Welcome to the forum, I hope you get lots of help & support from it.