Return to work? or maybe not?

denpen
denpen Member Posts: 389
Hi
I had THR nearly 4 months ago, I work in a shop which entails me standing for 5 hrs a day, carrying plastic totes of clothes through doorways when we have deliveries, I was going to return to work this week but I did some housework and it caused me quite a bit of discomfort for a couple of days so needless to say I didnt return to work this week, my GP gave me a sick note for another 2 weeks but said he cant see me going back then, he told me to talk to my manager about helping me back to work i.e. a phased return to work. I spoke to her today and she said she had spoken to HR this morning and I can have a phased return I normally work 20 hrs a week she said I can work 10 and take 10 holidays for the first 2 weeks I go back. She also told me that I have to be able to do the job because thats what I am being paid for.
Obviously I wont be physically fit for some time yet and her saying this made me realise that I will not be going back in 2 weeks time because I am still not fit enough.
Denise

Comments

• speedalong
    speedalong Member Posts: 3,315
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Denise,

Is there any way your job could be adapted to make it more accessible to you - could you move the plastic totes on a trolley or do the doorways involve steps? Are you required to move around the whole time or could you perform some of your tasks sitting down? Would a perching stool help?

I am in a similiar dilemma - I teach children with special needs and my job involves being constantly on the move, sitting on the floor, lifting children and rearranging furniture, lots of physical play, sitting on the floor and using low chairs etc So although I'm increasingly able to do things ,,, going back to work just yet is not an option.