Steroid Injections for Bursitis

Options
sharovbetty
sharovbetty Member Posts: 4
edited 25. Oct 2010, 07:36 in Living with Arthritis archive
I'm new to this so hi! Can someone please tell me if they have had steroid injections to treat bursitis - ultrasound, anti inflammatories and ice have not helped significantly. I've been told that steroid injections will probably be next course of action. I'd like to know if particularly if they are painful (!) and will I be able to go back to work next day or do you have to "rest up" afterwards? Thanks in advance for taking the time to reply to me.

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    I know someone who has, and she is away from the forums today and tomorrow. Sorry! I cannot help but I wish you well. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • julie47
    julie47 Member Posts: 6,041
    Options
    Hi there

I had a bursa removed about 3 months ago because it was leaking through a sinus track. I kept trying to ignore it and I think in some cases you can but mine was always getting infected. I had a mri scan to confirm this. The surgeon who did my op under local anaesthetic said he could not guarantee that it will not come back. BUT he had done a lady in a similar position to myself and hers went completely.
    My bursa and sinus was at the end of my stump as I am a below knee amputee. The bursa appears as it is tryin to protect it. AH!

I was never offered steroid injections to get rid of it, perhaps because it kept getting infected.

I have just started wearing proshetic leg again after over 7 months of being without. My problem now is that it is taking forever to heal properly. With just the tiniest hole you ould ever imagine refusing to get better.