returning to work

Options
kittykazz
kittykazz Member Posts: 9
Hi

After a knee operation to try to help with my oa i am getting ready to return to work. I work for large retail company where i was doing heavy work and want to arrange a meating with hr to discuss a lighter job. (my husband is already disabled and with 2 kids at home to care for i need my knee to last as long as possible lol) Does anyone have any tips on how to approach this meeting and what my rights are i really feel like i am letting the team at work down but feel i have to put my family and my health first. Thanks :roll:

Comments

• speedalong
    speedalong Member Posts: 3,315
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Kittykaz and welcome,

I'm in a similiar position, returning to work after a hip operation. I'm not an expert at all this (Dorcas is!) but can tell you about me. I self referred to Occupational health and the doc discussed with me my condition and what I could and couldn't do. They wrote an report detailing their recommendations for my boss (phased return, restricted duties etc). I rang the job centre and spoke to the disability advisor and they said I was covered by DDA (disability discrimination act) and they gave me details of Access to work who did a work place assessment and recommended some equipment to enable me to do my job more easily. Employee relations are meeting with myself and my boss to do risk assessments ... I did contact my union too, but they did not seem very experienced in this sort of thing.

I haven't really answered your question, have I? Sorry.

Speedy
    I have had OA since mid twenties. It affects my hips and knees. I had a THR on the left aged 30 and now have a resurface-replacement on the right - done May 2010.
  • kittykazz
    kittykazz Member Posts: 9
    Options
    speedalong wrote:
    Hi Kittykaz and welcome,