New to this

Options
angelgirl7
angelgirl7 Member Posts: 118
edited 25. Nov 2010, 00:43 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all

I am Beckie, a 34 year old mum to two children (6 & 9) After 6 years of being a stay at home mum I am now a trainee Teaching Assistant studying for my diploma and volunteering at the local Primary School.

On Monday I was told that I have Osteoarthritis in my right hip. At the moment I am in shock and scared as I have no idea what to expect. I am now waiting to see the consultant.

My first response was "I haven't got time to have anything done" but a lot of people have been telling me that there are many things that can be done before surgery ........... i.e. medication and injections :?

Look forward to chatting more
Beckie X

Comments

• spacey
    spacey Member Posts: 126
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    welcome Beckie, i am also a mum of 2 and 34 years old. i have a different form of arthritis but look forward to chatting too.
  • skezier
    skezier Member Posts: 11,333
    Options
    hi Beckie,

it all comes as a big shock initially and that takes a bit of getting used to as well as having it. there are a load of things that can be done before surgery depending on at what stage your hip is at.

seeing a consultant for the first time can be frightening in the idea but hopefully they will be able to give you a better idea on what stage your at and how far its affected. mine goes on movement and pain. i am lucky i lost movement but the pain isn't too bad.

welcome to posting and the hip folk will be able to hep you a lot more when they come in. nice to meet you and sorry having to do one handed typing. Cris x
  • tjt6768
    tjt6768 Member Posts: 12,170
    Options
    Hi Becky, you must make time to do what is right for you, there are so many different medications and things they can do/try for you, not saying they will work but you have to give them a go.