New Diagnosis

Options
welshgirl21
welshgirl21 Member Posts: 6
edited 25. Nov 2010, 12:27 in Living with Arthritis archive
My boyfriend is 28 and has just been diagnosed with Gout. He has had two attacks in the space of a month and he does have frequent attacks throughout the year.

From what I can read online diet seems to be a good place to start to limit the attacks - is this correct?

He has been given painkillers to help this attack and then he has to go back to his GP for a blood test to confirm it.

I have read about foods that are high in purines and on Saturday he ate muscles and drank beer so I am wondering if that contributed to this attack.

I'm new to this and am really looking for any ways I can help him. He is overweight but the attacks keep him out of the gym and seem to flare up after exercise, is this a link?

I've been on the arthritis care website and arthritis Uk and am just looking for any other helpful information.

Thanks all
Sarah

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options