Hi, about to start MTX, diagnosis awaiting... But down to 3

Options
Firemanphil_39
Firemanphil_39 Member Posts: 66
edited 4. Jan 2011, 03:11 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all, I'm sure I'll be on here more in the future... I'm a 39 yo firefighter, 2young girls 5 and 3... Was previously training for an 'ironman' triathlon and looking forward to qualifying for great Britain next year....

8 months ago now I had mid foot pain, that led to me an air cast boot( my ankle swelled) then my knee swelled too... Seemed I and everyone else was just thinking 'overuse' spotting injury...

Eventually a sports injury consultant (dr Roger hawkes) spotted the 3joints, hot and swollen pattern.. So I paid to see dr tom price... Had some injections and more bloods. Anyway, still waiting for hla gene marker to come back , but I'm looking at reactive Arth, psoriatic arth, or A.S ...

Ho hum... Could be worse... Nice to get the condition diagnosed and I can get my head round it and adjust...

X

Starting MTX Monday.... Hopefully it's reactive A ( my sore back is post activity and upper back aroung my 'hinge point' and poetical strain as per an osteopath...

Any feed back welcome...

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Arthritis can be an aboslute **** to diagnose, there are so many different forms of it. What was injected into you, why, and did it help? You could be at the beginning of a rather long journey: I hope not, I hope you find answers and soon. I wish you well. DD (13 and 3/4 years into psoriatic arthritis) (I think I have the maths right!)
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • williamlargs
    williamlargs Member Posts: 143
    Options
    Hello mate and welcome. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and have been on MTX since July with great results. I have had to give up 7'aside football but now swim 3 or 4 times a week and do a lot of walking.