Hi guys!

Keren
Keren Member Posts: 29
edited 21. Dec 2010, 10:40 in Say Hello Archive
Another newbie here - I've just been diagnosed with OA after over a year of painful joints in my hands, particularly my thumbs.

I've been feeling a bit down in the dumps - I'm only 35, and am feeling pretty anxious about the future. I'm a web designer, and my job is based around using my hands. I also had a rubbish experience second time around at the hospital rheumatology department with a registrar doctor (she told me my diagnosis in a totally laissez faire way, and was then very dismissive when I asked about a long term prognosis - I left feeling miserable). :cry: I've booked an appointment with my (very nice) GP to talk through things with him, so hopefully that will help.

Anyways that's my story. Nice to meet you all!

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi keren and welcome to the forum. I don't have OA so cannot really help on that front: your GP is the one you will be liaising with the most over this diagnosis, so it's good you and he get on well. He may well offer you anti-inflammatories (ask about a stomach protector too, if he does) and pain relief. As for the hsopital doc, well, it is very hard to give anyone a long-term prognosis, we all develop our various versions of arthritis in our own ways and no-one can definitively tell you what the future holds. I know that some people on here swear by a hot wax treatment to ease their hand joints - if you post any queries on LWA (living with arthritis) you may get more replies as more people tend to look in on that forum. I wish you well. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • Keren
    Keren Member Posts: 29
    Thanks dreamdaisy - I will.
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520