Arthritis in feet but was v active before hand!

sailrib
sailrib Member Posts: 327
edited 1. May 2011, 06:21 in Young people's community
Hi.

Ive been told I have arthritis in some of my joints in my feet and ankle and need a triple fusion surgery on both feet.

I work in the outdoor industry and not been able to sail or climb is killing me!

Has anyone else with arthritis had to stop doing their sport I love?

Im 24 years and have sailed for 11 years and climbed for 14 years. Im getting down in the dumps because I am so less active then I used to be.

What kind of sport can someone do with arthritis in feet and ankle?

I dont know what to do! x :cry:

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I too have arthritis in my knees,ankles and toes amongst other joints. As most sport is dependant on movement finding a replacement activity won't be easy. What would the position be after the surgery? Would you be able to resume those acitivities, perhaps with some moderation? I can see why you are so frustrated especially as you are used to being acitve - luckily for me I am an ancient crone of 51, unable to walk much now, but I miss walking (hugely), swimming (not that much), cycling (very much) and dancing (enormously). It isn't easy to find something new but swimming could be something to try, it's non weight-bearing and you can be as competitive as you like. I remember being told not to do the breast stroke because of my knees but I am sure you could find a stroke that would suit. I wish you well. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • sailrib
    sailrib Member Posts: 327
    Ah thanks.

I learnt to swim about 2 years ago but never went back so it maybe worth me going back.

I have been told I will never sail or climb like I used to so doing it as a job will be a no no. I have to find a new career at the age of 24!