Driving with arthur.....

Options
woodbon
woodbon Member Posts: 4,969
edited 26. Apr 2011, 10:11 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello, I'm sorry you are having trouble driving it must be a worry, as cars are something which help make us independant.

I have no experience myself, but my niece, who is badly disabled with a neuro disease had to change to an automatic car. I know she was nervous and worried that she wouldn't get on with it, but once she had it and started driving she loved it. She didn't have to worry about the gear changing and all that. I think she arranged it on the motability scheme. Things have changed since those days, but I think their is still a scheme that does the same thing, so if I where you I'd find out all the information. I think her occupational therapist helped her make a case.
I hope you get something. Love Sue xx

Comments

• kathbee
    kathbee Member Posts: 934
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Lynne

Yes I changed to automatic driving from a manual due to arthur.

I had to give up driving for 3 yrs and managed to get back into
    it by us getting an automatic car. We chose one that was
    fairly high up, as in easier to get in and out of.

Sadly, not been driving for a while now - again due to arthur, dont
    like my independence taken away. :cry:

Hope you decide to go for it as its sooooooooooo easy.
    Easy on the hands and wrists, shoulders and feet.
    Just Point and go, :smile:
    wouldnt want to go back to manual ever again.

Kath
  • julie47
    julie47 Member Posts: 6,041
    Options
    Hi Lynn

Yes I changed from a manual car to auto about 14/15 years ago.(m reg and was just 3yr old as we bought it) I still have it.
    This was because changing gear was too hard and the steering too.

I love my auto....It was strange at first as I kept going to change gear but after a while that stopped.