OA and a student nurse.

Options
Nellie65
Nellie65 Member Posts: 3
Hi
After months with a sore hip and sacrum, I rang my GP up last night to see if x ray results were back. A receptionist told me over the phone that the diagnosis was OA. :shock:
Shocked and so upset is an understatement. I am a student nurse 11 months off qualifying (a 4.5 year course) with 10 months placement ahead of me.
I am gutted. I dont know where to turn. I will arrange to see gp next week but I am scared that a. I won't be able to finish my course, and b. will I ever be employable if I do qualify. :cry:
My husband has told me Im being too pessimistic but when I have had chronic pain and the misery of nauseating pain meds for weeks its not so easy to be hopeful.
I just wondered if there were any other nurses out there? Nellie x

xxx

Comments

• janie68
    janie68 Member Posts: 1,186
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi

Please be reassured that you can qualify and work as a staff nurse. You need to refer yourself to occy health, and also see disability advisor at uni, they will look at reasonable adjustments for you to help you.

I am a staff nurse with RA, I do have it severely and i manage to work part time, I work early shifts where poss, I have an electric wheelchair to help me get around the ward.

You are in shock at the moment but please get the support you need, they are there to help you, they are not there to cut your career short.

You will feel a bit more positive soon, I know it may be hard, you can negogiate your shifts to a certain degree, I would be upfront and honest with uni, occy health and ward manager. Then, if you do run into problems on your placement, then they have an obligation to help you through. I am a mentor also so I would want my student to do the best they could and most things an be worked around.

Good luck

Janie
  • Nellie65
    Nellie65 Member Posts: 3
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Oh Janie