mobility help

tigger98
tigger98 Member Posts: 8
edited 17. Jun 2011, 12:39 in Young people's community
Hey im new to this and i was just wondering if i could have any help with a question thats been on my mind for a while. My situation is arthritis in my ankles, right knee and both hips as well as my wrist and elbow. My wrist and elbow are curing but my legs aren't. There's only my right hand side that now hurts and i was just wondering if crutches would be given to help me walk because I am noticing i am struggling a lot and when ive borrowed my friends crutches, its helped me out so much?

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I was given NHS crutches afer an operation, but for long-term use they are not ideal. Ones with ergonomic handles are better and to find what suits you you need to try them for yourself. Any disability aids shop should have them and should have a range for you to try. Prices can be quite low, I think my cheapest set were £15 but they felt like it and didn't last too long. I buy mine as I can get what I want and need, plus the trust in my neck of the woods is very cash-strapped and doesn't hand out stuff like it used. Your area might be different though - ask your GP or rheumatologist for information on this, perhaps they could sort something out for you.
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • roses1
    roses1 Member Posts: 1,850
    Hi Tigger,

Welcome and pleased to meet you :grin:

Ask to see a physio they will help with muscle strengthening exercise and will advise about the right crutches and the correct height for you.
    Good luck.

Rose x
  • tigger98