New and scared

Options
migrembe
migrembe Member Posts: 24
edited 4. Sep 2011, 09:26 in Say Hello Archive
Hi, My name is Beverley, too many beverley's to have it as a username. I'm 48 and have just found out i have severe arthritis in my knees. I had a slip down my house stairs back in march and it's never really got better since then. The docs thought i had done lots of other damage, but that's not the case, that could of been repaired, but i think this is worse.
I've been off work 3 months and it doesn't look like i'm going back either, i'm a staff nurse and i walk all day, even though i only work three days a week. I'm in pain all the time, which ranges from a quiet hum to a raging furnace and people really don't get it and i need to walk with at least one crutch over short distances and two over any distance longer then an average street. I read someone else's post about how their boss thinks its like flu, take a few pills and it will get better. I know that pain can be controlled but i also know it pain relief not cure.
I'm seeing the consultant on tue and then next week occy health and then they want to come up with a do or dont solution to work so i could end up losing my job.
A question, well several; does any of the following work or help, taking suppliments, exercise, diet? Or anything else?

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,714
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Beverley and welcome to the forum though I’m sorry you needed to find us. Arthritis is a scarey place when you first come to it but you will learn coping strategies and be given meds that will help at least to some degree though, as you so perceptively say, it’s pain relief not cure.

You are so right that people don’t get it. Have you tried googling ‘Spoon Theory’ which one of our forum members put me on to. It’s a good method of trying to get others to understand.