Where were you on 9/11

Options
rondetto
rondetto Member Posts: 2,526
edited 13. Sep 2011, 04:51 in Community Chit-chat archive
Most of us senior people will always remember where we were when President Kennedy was assassinated, but as 9/11 is just 10 years ago I guess we all remember where we were when we heard the news.

My wife and I was on holiday in Newquay, Cornwall. We were having cream scones and coffee in a small cafe when we heard people talking about what we though was a tragic plane crash, it wasn't until we returned to our hotel room that we find out the full horrific truth.

Anyone remember where they were?

Comments

• joanlawson
    joanlawson Member Posts: 8,681
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Ron

I remember exactly where I was when I heard about Kennedy's assassination and 9/11.

I was a student in London when Kennedy was assassinated, and was sitting having a meal in the canteen of the hall of residence. Another student told us the news, and I remember how silent everyone went in total disbelief.

On 9/11 I had gone to my son's house to look after his dogs and switched on the TV just as the first tower had been hit. Everyone thought it was possibly an accident at first, but I remember feeling sick when the second tower was hit. Thinking about all those poor people was terrible, and there was a genuine fear that there could be more attacks.

Joan
    c1b3ebebbad638aa28ad5ab6d40cfe9c.gif
  • barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,281
    Options
    Hi Ron
    We where in Eastbourne on holiday, and had just come back to the hotel...put the tv on and it was showing the plane and fire in the first tower...so we thought it was an accident...then has we were watching the second plane hit.....you dont forget something like that..
    Love
    Barbara
  • julie47
    julie47 Member Posts: 6,041
    Options
    I was at home and decided to turn the tv on while sat having a coffee.