Hello from Gloucester

SusieG
SusieG Member Posts: 30
edited 9. Oct 2011, 16:14 in Say Hello Archive
Hi

After years of knee pain I have been diagnosed with arthritis in both hips, much worse in my left, and am just starting to look at the options available to me. My consultant has said he will do a hip replacement if I want one, but would prefer more conservative treatment at this stage. Either cortisone injections or continue with pain killers.

As a fairly active 50 year old who lives on pain killers I'm still in shock and trying to get my head round having nothing wrong with my knees, I was hoping it was a cartilage problem that would be easily fixed.

I'm sure most of you on here have far worse problems than mine, but at the moment I am new to this and need to try to work out how best to treat it. Any advice, ideas will be greatly appreciated. One option that is definitly out of the question is to sell my horse.

Thanks for listening.

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    On no account sell the horse, SusieG. Our friend skezier, stalwart of the forum, would never forgive you. I’d find it tough too because, although I never rode as an able-bodied person, I came to Riding for the Disabled with two knee replacements and a hip, carried on after the 2nd hip was replaced and only gave it up, reluctantly, when one of the replacement knees needed replacing and the surgeon got a bit iffy about it. I loved both the riding and the contact with the horses some of whom I’d count among the best physiotherapists I’ve ever had.

Enough about me – you are understandably struggling to understand that (a) you’ve nothing wrong with your knees but (b) you have with your hips. That’s a lot to take in. They call it ‘referred pain’ when you feel it in one joint but it’s caused by another. It happens more than you’d think.