ouch :(

Options
joziexo
joziexo Member Posts: 13
edited 31. Oct 2011, 14:29 in Living with Arthritis archive
hello :) im new to this and need some help. Im 17 and had rheumatiod arthritis for a few years now. lately iv been having quite a bad flare up which usually i can deal with but my ankle is really playing up. im finding it so hard to walk. iv looked on pictures on the internet of what your ankle looks like and where the pain is coming from there is no joint? its the heel of my foot, sort of underneath. iv tried speaking to doctors but nothing really seems to happening. im panicing incase the joint is damaged. has anyone got any advice? or have the same problem? thanks xx

Comments

• suzygirl
    suzygirl Member Posts: 2,005
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi, the trouble with arthritis is it can affect the tendons etc as well. Have you googled plantar fascitis?? I have had inflamed fascias and achilles tendonitis as part of my arthritis. very painful.

Have you spoke to your rheumy nurse or gp?? I think you should call them to see if they can help. I had physio who gave me stretching exercises and helped to calm the fascias down.

Hope you feel better soon.

P.s obviously I am not a doc, it justs that what sprang to mind!!!
  • joziexo
    Options
    thank you for replying. me and my mum have been on the phone to the doctors and nurses for a few days now, they keep on telling me to wait for an appointment. i understand their busy i just wanted to speak to someone and ask what kinds of things i could be doing to help myself, such as exersises like you said or wether i should be walking on it or not.
    hopefully il be having physio in the next few months.
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options