Newbie!!

Options
annalou
annalou Member Posts: 38
edited 27. Nov 2011, 01:28 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all, I am new to all this! Hope I get it right! I've been lurking for quite a while now. I'm a 38yr old working mum.

I have all the signs and symptoms of RA but just recently had blood tests which apparently came back normal (??) but the doctor has referred me thankfully to the Rheumatologist and I have an appointment on 19th December.

I have finger, hand and wrist pain and my feet are something else!! At times I struggle to walk and drive and they constantly feel bruised at night when I'm trying to sleep!! My elbows get sore at times too and also my lower back, sometimes it's almost impossible to turn over and get out of bed, thankfully though not too bad at the moment.

I've been having problems noticeably since giving birth in 2007 and just put it down to hormones but finally plucked up the courage to see the doctor about it a month ago, particulary as painkillers don't seem to make a difference and trying to manage a 4yr old and 20 month old is hard work!

It really helps reading other peoples experiences and although I'm not official yet with diagnosis, I can definately relate. I must admit I am scared to get a diagnosis, if that makes sense lol!

Comments

• SheilaD
    SheilaD Member Posts: 201
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Annalou

Welcome to the forum. Glad your GP has refered you to Rheumatology. At least if they diagnose you you know what your dealing with. Sorry you are in so much pain, I know your scared, everyone is of going into the unknown. But sooner you are diagnosed maybe they start you on medication.

I have just had scans which show RA (Radiologist told me) but off to see consultant this afternoon to discus scans and have a whole list of questions for him. :smile:

I am sure others will reply to you on here, they are brilliant at making you feel at home.

Love n hugs
    SheilaD xx
  • annalou
    Options