heel growth

eleanor
eleanor Member Posts: 2
Hi please could anybody give any advice,
I have had reactive arthritis for 8 months. In the last 5 months I have developed a hard growth on the back of my heel as a result of an inflamed achilies tendon. This is a major problem for me as it feels very tight and becomes achy and painful when used. I cannot run, jump or walk very far. If I rest it seems to feel better, but as soon a I go about my normal activities again it begins to hurt and I am very worried about making it worse. Do you know what exactly this is? And most importantly what can I do to make it go away? My doctor said it should disapear eventually, but in the mean time I cannot work because of mobility issues and so am feeling very fed up. I am confused because I don't understand what I should be doing.. stretching it or resting? I have tried to rest but it doesn't seem to be going away... please help I am used to being a very active person as I studied dance at university and when I developed arthritis was working as a diving instructor in borneo... :sad:

Comments

• helpline_team
    helpline_team Posts: 3,464
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Eleanor

Happy New Year!

I can see the situation is distressing you. Unfortunately we cannot diagnose or tell you what the hard growth is however I would suggest you ask your GP for an urgent referral to see a podiatrist particularly as it is affecting your job and mobility.

Best wishes
    Simona
  • elnafinn
    elnafinn Member Posts: 7,412
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Eleanor

I am sorry to hear of your foot problems.

Your GP is probably right in that it will get get better on its own but that can take about 2 - 3 months which is a long time when you wish to carry on with your life. :roll:

You could try putting ice over the Achilles tendon for 15 to 20 minutes, two to three times per day. Remove the ice if the area gets numb.