nusery teacher - just diagnosed - advice?

Options
KitMcF
KitMcF Member Posts: 16
Hello all, on Friday I was diagnosed with Osteo arthritis in my right ankle. I am an early years teacher, teaching a mixed nursery reception class.

I am on my feet on and off through the day playing with the kids and outside as well for an hour at a time.

I'm just looking to connect with other teachers to see what is any measures I need to take with regards to work - I presume I need to let the health team know?

Just looking for any advice really.

Comments

• CJHunter
    CJHunter Member Posts: 1,038
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hiya, and welcome.

I am not a teacher but i know a few on here and some that have been who may be able to advise on your position.
    t10007.gif

Just saying hi and maybe post this on the living with forum as it gets more readers. :smile:
    Clare xxeyeore-1.jpg
  • dibdab
    dibdab Member Posts: 1,498
    Options
    Hi Kit,
    Like you I teach and have RA which often leaves me in pain and fatigued beyond words. I shared the diagnosis with my headteacher and got leaflets that gave her information about symptoms etc-she appreciated the insight into what I was coping with. Your head has a responsibility to make reasonable adjustments-mine arranged for me to have better chairs so that I didn't have to sit on tiny ones.
    Teaching is a tough job when you feel well, but struggling with pain makes it horrendous some days. As an early years teacher I really found that the rest of the team were my salvation- they could see when I was struggling and often took pressure off me, or stood in when I was really struggling- maybe if you share with your team they will support you too?
    I'm in year 1 now, and whilst it is better not having to help with coats, buttons etc for the tiny ones, it's harder being isolated in the classroom and no longer part of the team.