Not sure how much longer I can work

Options
resusjan
resusjan Member Posts: 290
Hi Everyone,
I have RA, diagnosed less than 12 months ago, also have pernicious anaemia and hypothyroid. I am currently taking Methotrexate, Sulphasalazine, Planequil, Folic Acid, Thyroxine and B12 injections.

Just lately I am starting to notice that my symptoms are worsening - my hands are more painful, feet hurt causing pain when walking, shoulders are sore. I work full time as a nurse and we totally rely on my income to pay our mortgage - without my income our house would probably be reposessed. I am really concerned now - our mortgage has got 20 years left to run!!

Benefits would come nowhere near my income, I have thought about selling the house and renting but I think we are in negative equity so would still owe money on it. I work for the NHS so will get full sick pay for 6 months, then half pay for six months but after that would be relying on benefits.

I had an appointment with rheumatology in april so was hoping they may change my meds but they have cancelled it "due to unforseen circumstances". I have been internet searching permanent health insurance but think they would probably excude RA as it is a pre-existing condition. Really don't know what to do and the stress is probably not helping me at all.

Sorry to moan - really needed to get that off my chest and don't want to burden my husband and kids with it all.

Comments

• janie68
    janie68 Member Posts: 1,186
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi

I've just reitred on ill health from the NHS. I did get tier 2, although even though I do say so myself have really gone through the mill with the RA. On my 4th biologic, reduced my hours twice, tried everything to stay at work, got an electric wheelchair to help me around the ward.