New visitor

Options
fergyflo
fergyflo Member Posts: 3
edited 25. Mar 2012, 10:00 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all
I do hope you will bear with me as I have never done this before and being 70 years of age its all a bit new to me.

I will try to be as brief as I can and explain as much as I can about my condition.
I have suffered with pains in my back for perhaps 30 years and was told then that the discs at the base of my back were fused but not a lot could be done. The pains seemed to come and go and had heat treatment, accupuncture, and took co-proxamol. I worked in a junior school and bending over small desks certainly did not help. Anyway it was always manageble then.
I am retired now after being made redundant in 1995 and was never able to find further employment.

Life went on until about 5 years ago and I had problems with high blood pressure. I spent many months back and forth to the GP's surgery and various sorts of medications but it refused to come down. Then 3 years ago diagnosed with angina, more medication.

January 2010 slipped on the ice, fell on back. Didn't go to A&E as the weather was so bad and elderly husband did not want to drive the 12 miles. Did go next day to GP surgery. He looked and felt back and said he didn't think there was anything and would get better, just take cocodamol. Continued monthly visits to surgery to monitor blood pressure and each time I saw doctor told him my back was still painful, and he continued to say it would get better eventually but when you ar elderly it takes longer. Anyway long story short eventually I was in surgery and back was so painful I got rather upset. Outcome he decided to send me for MRI scan. This was done in the October 9 monthes after fall! Saw consultant for results - was not even asked to sit down, was told that I had fractured T7 nothing could be done only pain management clinic.
Along with the fracture the arthritis in spine had got worse.