Has anyone else had or having elbow replacements?

Options
AliceKay
AliceKay Member Posts: 6
edited 30. Mar 2012, 09:31 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi there,

I'm new to this... I was dianosed with RA aged 10 and am now 23 which I have in every joint except my right ankle (Random!). Since the day I was diagnosed, discovering when I had my first blood test it was realised my arms don't straighten. This has got worse over the years that now they are completely fixed in a 90 degree angle - I have no movement, my arms are extremely painful and basically useless as have no strengh.

I have had 3 operations on them which includes removals of bone and clear out of joints but the disease is so agressive this didnt help. My surgeons have said its now time for full elbow replacements. My elbows have been custom made in America to fit my small bones and arrive shortly.

Has anyone else had elbow replacements or anything similar that could let me know what to expect with pain? mobility? outcome?

I am having my first elbow replaced on May 17th then second elbow replaced on July 3rd at the royal national orthopaedic hospital in Stanmore London.

Any information anyone has would be great.

Thanks

Comments

• barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,281
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    hi Alicekay
    A very warm welcome form me, gosh you have been through so much in your young life,
    I do wish I could help with some advice, but I just want to add my support, and say we are always here for you to talk to, it really does help to talk to people that understand some of what you are going through.
    Hopefully someone will be along that can help, but I dont remember hearing of anyone on here having a new elbow, but I may be wrong
    I do wish you well with everything
    you take care xx
    Love
    Barbara
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options