keeping fit plus lose weight

Options
christinac47
christinac47 Member Posts: 102
edited 30. Jun 2012, 19:32 in Living with Arthritis archive
can someone plz help i have O&A in my lower spine and i bought a gym ball and dvd to try and work out plus i got a samba dvd (just basic nothing to hard)would this be ok for my to use as dont get much help from docters if anyone has any idears would be happy to listen to them hope everyone is well

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,713
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Exercise is good and does help joints and reduces pain so I think you're thinking on the right lines.

However, I think you'd need to be careful with a gym ball (Those big things that you sit on?) Go extremely gently at first or, better still, ask to be referred to a physio who can give good advice. Samba, as I recall, is quite 'twisty'. Again, I'd check with an expert.

I can't remember whether or not the AC exercise booklet listed in Publications and Resources has back exercises. Why not check it out?
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,281
    Options
    Hi
    Please make sure you put the gym ball agaisnet a wall to stop you falling off, I dont know how the oa has effected your lower back so you should really get medical advice.
    I have a few protruding disc, and some narrowing, the exercise ball is very good at sending more blood to this area, hence you can get some healing.
    But like I said please get some advice and be careful on it.
    Love
    Barbara
  • valval
    valval Member Posts: 14,911
    Options