Methotrexate

Michmack
Michmack Member Posts: 6
edited 22. May 2019, 17:55 in My child has arthritis
I was hoping someone could maybe help! My 4 year old daughter has had her methotrexate upped and since then she has been a different girl. She is very, very moody and angry most of the time and I wondered if it had anything to do with her methotrexate.

Thanks for your help in advance

Michelle

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello Michelle. Welcome to the forum but I'm sorry to hear about your little girl. I'm not the parent of a child with arthritis but I've had it myself for many years and have been taking methotrexate for the last 11 or so.

Bearing in mind I'm not a doctor, this isn't something I've heard anyone complaining of as a side-effect of meth. However, your little one is only 4 and, if she had some of the more usual problems (queasiness, headaches etc) I wonder if her mood changes and anger might be a result - or, just a result of the arthritis itself. We all get moody and angry from time to time when this disease interferes with our lives.

If these changes are enough to worry you, maybe your rheumatology helpline would be a good resource? Or an understanding GP?
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • Niknak
    Niknak Member Posts: 44
    Hi Michelle, well don't even know where to begin so sorry to hear your little girl isn't tolerating the methotrexate. My little girl is also four and on methotrexate she takes it orally medicene. And maybe we can support each other. Nicole is about to switch to the methotrexate being injected. How does your little girl take it what dose is she on. Nicole is on 10 mg which is 5 mil on a spoon.

The methotrexate makes Nicole very angry too, one minute she can be laughing and the next she will be moody angry violent.