Hi all, I'm a newbie

Options
pegleg
pegleg Member Posts: 139
edited 23. Jul 2012, 09:30 in Living with Arthritis archive
Just to say hello to everyone :) , I'm 48 and had a TKR last Tue (17th) , came home last night , feeling a bit up and down but I suppose its early days , not in too much pain but finding the stiffness and swelling difficult , hopefully that will improve , trying to maintain the bending I had to do with the physio's but it's swelled more since I left so not as easy , hope to get some advice from people's experiances on here xx

Comments

• elnafinn
    elnafinn Member Posts: 7,412
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Peg :D

Welcome to the forum. You have arrived at the right place for help post TKR. There are quite a few of us that have been there, done that. Both my knees are replaced now. :D

Try to keep up with the knee bends and doing the stairs and all the other exercises given by the physio. It is very early days for you yet, keep remembering that it is a major op you have had, but still you do need to try to continue with the exercises. It does get easier, trust me. :)

No doubt you were told about RICE. Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevate. It becomes easier after the stitches or whatever you had put in, are removed. I expect physio will be arranged for you to attend in about a week or so now that you are home.

One day in the hospital my knee was really swollen and the physio told me to rest for a good few hours that afternoon after we had been through the exercising, wiggling the feet keeping the legs elevated. She thought this would be more beneficial to me than overdoing it with the exercising later in the day. I was probably being over ambitious with the walking up and down the ward and corridors. :roll: