new to forum,and just a little worried

Options
LesBrown
LesBrown Member Posts: 37
edited 31. Aug 2012, 11:30 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all, this is my first post so forgive me for making it a long one, like most with arthritis I’m getting to the end of my tether. I have suffered with arthritis now for 10 years; I’m 48 now and haven’t been able to work much for the past 8.

I’ve read quite a bit here before posting and it seems what’s happened to me is quite common and you may have guessed it’s the doctors again.

I have arthritis in my feet, knees, back neck elbows wrists and fingers, and I have signs of it moving to my hips, have crepitus in my knees neck and elbows.

About 10 years ago when it first started I saw the doctors about my back and knees and told it was only the strain of my Job, I was a domestic appliance engineer and had been since leaving school, no follow-ups, no x-ray, nothing. I was pulled in by my work to see the doctor there who opened my eyes, He did a test on my knees and told me my cartilage was very thin and could feel bony protrusions that needed testing with x ray’s, he informed me my back felt odd to him but had no doubt arthritis is playing a part in my pain, he also measured the movement in my neck and told me I had a 30% loss of movement and was the first to actually listen to my neck with his stethoscope and said I had a small cement mixer in there. That was the last I worked but they kept my job open for a further 3 years hoping I could return, I still see my old Boss who says when are you coming back.