STT hand joint fusion

Options
mand
mand Member Posts: 3
edited 24. Oct 2012, 18:33 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi
I haven't used this forum before but was wondering if anyone can help me? I have osteoarthritis in my STT joints in my hands/wrists, just below the thumb. I was hoping someone may have had an STT fusion and might be able to tell me how much movement they actually lost? I am a pianist and I am conscious of the pain every day but I don't want to go ahead with a fusion if it's going to seriously impact on my playing. I teach piano you see. Has anyone any advise please?
Mand

Comments

• Numptydumpty
    Numptydumpty Member Posts: 6,417
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Mand, and welcome to the forum.
    I can't really help, I had a full wrist fusion 7 weeks ago, and I'm still in a plaster cast, another 3 weeks to go. I won't have any movement in my wrist at all. Of course an STT fusion is different anyway.
    I'm sure someone will be along soon to help.
    Wishing you well,
    Numpty
  • villier
    villier Member Posts: 4,426
    Options
    Hi Mand

A big welcome to the forum afraid I can't help you either, I get a finger fusion done soon a lot different to what you are getting, I am sure someone will be able to advise hope to see you around .......Marie
    Smile a while and while you smile
    smile another smile and soon there
    will be miles and miles of smiles
    just because you smiled I wish your
    day is full of Smiles
  • frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,447
    Options
    Hi Mand

I am no use whatsoever, but wanted to wish you all the very best and hope it doesn't stop you playing

Love and luck

Toni xx
  • mand
    mand Member Posts: 3
    Options
    Hi

Thanks to you three for your kind words.

A full wrist fusion sounds traumatic. I hope it heals well and gives you some relief.

I shall be interested to see how the finger fusion goes. The best of luck with that.