help please as i'm new

Options
rio1
rio1 Member Posts: 4
edited 29. Oct 2012, 06:53 in Living with Arthritis archive
hi I’m looking for some help on understanding my condition Due to an accident 2 and half years ago I have been diagnosed with arthritis in my right ankle and left knee and I work but find it hard to walk long distance I also can’t run since the accident I work as a bus inspector so most of my work is standing on my feet but I find that I’m in pain soon after starting work its getting difficult each day and don't take pain killers as i get heart palpitations (Ibrufen) I’m not trying to claim benefits or looking for symphony I wanted to know if I would be entitled to a blue badge so I could park closer to the city centre if any body can help me to understand my options please. :?:

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi rio1, it's nice to meet you and I hope we can help. I have OA in both my knees and ankles and struggle with walking so I can empathise with your trouble. I've been on two crutches for years and now use a rollator as a matter of routine. The only way to find out if you qualify for a BB is to apply for it - when you fill in the form base your answers on a bad day and hopefully that will be enough to secure one for you. They have their limitations though - it's not a passport to all-day parking in one spot. :wink:

There are options for pain relief apart from ibuprophen, your GP is the person to advise on that. An anti-inflammatory may also help and again that's a matter for him. Good luck and please let us know how you get on. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • rio1
    Options
    Manythanks for your replie ill fill in the form and also see my doctor manythanks again for a swift response.
  • barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,281
    Options
    Hi rio1