JIA sufferer and now bone loss density.

Options
Kirsty88
Kirsty88 Member Posts: 9
edited 22. Nov 2012, 06:42 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi there guys,
I'm pretty new to this but thought I may try it out for some advice.
I was diagnosed with JIA ten years ago now, I'm now 24 I've been on lots of different medication, treatments etc it also tend to effect my immune system a great deal too. Now recently I've been having some severe pain in my lower spine and I mentioned this at a recent consultant app, they sent me for a X-ray and I have just received a letter informing me there is a loss of bone density in my lower spine area. Also they are guna send me to a special scan. Now what does loss of bone density mean to a arthritis sufferer? Is this bad? Any advice or help would greatly be appreciated! :)

Kirsty

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,719
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello Kirsty888. It's good to meet you though, as we say in these parts, I'm sorry you had to find us.

I'm not surprised that your JIA affects the immune system as it's an auto-immune disease. Do you know much about them? If not, you might find it helpful to check out some of the booklets and leaflets in the 'Publications and Resources' section at the top of the page. The meds we use are all designed to dampen down our over-active immune systems so that makes us more prone to viruses etc.

I don't have bone density loss so I'm not the best person to answer you. It can be caused by osteoporosis or, the milder (I believe) from, oseteopoenia. if you have been on steroids for a long time, they can cause it. I hope someone will be along soon who knows more about it than I do but I hope the scan news is good.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • tjt6768
    tjt6768 Member Posts: 12,170
    Options
    sorry that i can't advise but just wanted to wish you all the best and welcome you to the forum.